The Board of EFI establishes and reviews the overall research framework and the strategy of the Institute, and it supervises the Secretariat. The Board is composed of eight individuals with established competence in the field of the activities of the Institute. Board members are not representatives of any government or organisation.  Four of the members are elected by the EFI Council and four by EFI Associate Members.

EFI Board

Board members with EFI Director during their spring 2023 meeting in Rome.
Photo by  Alessandro Natalizia

Our current Board members are:

Prof. Marco Marchetti (Chair of the Board)
Dr. Leire Barañano (Vice Chair of the Board)
Maggie Charnley
Prof. Verena Griess
Prof. Róbert Marušák
Prof. Dr. Elena Paoletti
Dr Sanja Perić
Prof. Margarida Tomé 

Past Board members

Prof. Raul Albuquerque de Sardinha
Prof. Per-Ove Bäckström
F. Xavier Ballabriga
Dr. Miroslav Benko
Prof. Yves Birot (Chair, 1998-2001)
Dr. José Antonio Bonet Lledós
Dr. Melvin Cannell
Roland Daamen 

Dr. Erwin Dreyer 
Prof. Dr. Christine Farcy

Dr. Lukas Giessen
Prof. Dr. Jean-Marc Guehl
Dr. Eeva Hellström
Dr François Houllier (Chair, 2004-2006)
Dr Jan Ilavsky
Dr V.I. Jagodin
Prof. Emil Klimo

Dr. Cecil Konijnendijk
Alenka Korenjak
MP Hanna Kosonen 
Prof. Dr. Michael Köhl
Prof. J. Bo Larsen (Chair, 2010-2015)
Dr. Natalia Lukina 
Prof. Jim Lynch OBE
Dr. Harald Mauser
Prof. Maurizio Merlo
Prof. Dr. Frits Mohren
Fergal Mulloy (Chair, 2001-2003)
Knut Øistad (Chair 2017-2020)
Pekka Patosaari
Tim Peck (Chair, 1993-1998)
Dr. Anatoly Petrov
Anders Portin

Prof. Francisco Rego (Chair, 2003-2004)
Dr Jan Remröd
Prof. Kazimierz Rykowski
Dr. Liisa Saarenmaa
Prof. Dr. Giuseppe E. Scarascia-Mugnozza (Chair, 2015-2017)
Prof. Lisa Sennerby Forsse
Prof. Dr Franz Schmithüsen
Prof. Dr Andrey Selikhovkin
Prof. Dr Birger Solberg
Dr. Zoltan Somogyi
Prof. Konstantin von Teuffel (Chair, 2006-2010)
Prof. Kim von Weissenberg
Ernst Wermann
Prof. Dr. Tomasz Zawiła-Niedźwiecki