Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) contributes to the research and policy support activities of EFI. Its work includes anticipating future research needs, stimulating research and study initiatives, and monitoring EFI's activities. The SAB reports on its activities to the EFI Board.

Scientific Advisery Board
SAB during its meeting in September 2019. Photo by Adam Walker, The James Hutton Institute


Our current Scientific Advisory Board members are:

Dr. Gary Kerr, UK (Vice-Chair 2020)
Prof. Dr. Cecil Konijnendijk, Canada
Prof. Dr. Phoebe Koundouri, Greece (Vice-Chair 2018-2019; Chair 2020)
Prof. Dr. Manfred Lexer, Austria
Prof  Dr. Maria Nijnik, UK
Prof. Dr. Elena Paoletti, Italy (Chair 2017-2019)
Prof. Dr. Anne Toppinen, Finland

Administrative support: Katriina Pajari, EFI

Further information: SAB Rules of Procedure


Past SAB members

Prof. Dr. Bas Arts, the Netherlands 

Prof. Kristina Blennow, Sweden (Vice-Chair 2012-2014)

Prof. Gérard Buttoud, France

Dr. David Burdekin, United Kingdom

Prof. Americo Carvalho Mendes, Portugal

Dr. Emil Cienciala, Czech Republic

Prof. Oleg Chertov, Russia

Mr. Peter Csoka, Hungary

Prof. Paul Efthymiou, Greece

Dr. Chris Elliott, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. E.P. Farrell, Ireland (Chair 2006-2008)

Dr. Andrey Filipchuk, Russia

Prof. Dr. Peter Glück, Austria

Prof. Dr. Carlos Gracia, Spain

Prof. Daniel Guinard, France

Prof. Bo Jellesmark Thorsen, Denmark

Prof. Dr. Hubert Hasenauer, Austria (Chair 2009-2011)

Dr. Eeva Hellström, Finland

Prof. Dr. Karl Hogl, Austria

Dr. David Humphreys, United Kingdom

Prof. Dr. Markku Kanninen, Finland

Prof. Niels Elers Koch, Denmark

Prof. Michael Köhl, Germany

Dr. Antoine Kremer, France

Prof. Max Krott, Germany

Dr. Elena Kulikova, Russia

Prof. Jari Kuuluvainen, Finland

Prof. Dr. Karin Ljung, Sweden

Prof. Marco Marchetti, Italy (Chair 2012-2014)

Prof. Frits Mohren, the Netherlands (Chair 2002-2005)

Prof. Leena Paavilainen, Finland

Prof. Davide Pettenella, Italy

Prof. Jean-Luc Peyron, France

Prof. Eduardo Rojas Briales, Spain

Prof. Rodolphe Schlaepfer, Switzerland

Prof. Risto Seppälä, Finland

Prof. Margaret Shannon, United States/Germany

Prof. Bill Slee, United Kingdom (Chair 2015-2016)

Dr. Zoltán Somogyi, Hungary

Prof. Heinrich Spiecker, Germany (Chair 1994-2001)

Prof. Göran Ståhl, Sweden

Prof. Hubert Sterba, Austria

Dr. Victor Teplyakov, Russian Federation

Prof. Margarida Tomé, Portugal