From Science to Policy 5

Lauri Hetemäki, Marc Hanewinkel, Bart Muys, Markku Ollikainen, Marc Palahí, Antoni Trasobares

The year 2016 was a turning point: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and its Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were adopted, and the Paris Agreement on climate change came into effect. These sent out a global political message of the need to transform our economic system to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure wellbeing for all.

The critical question now is how to reach the ambitious targets they set. A necessary part of the answer will be the move to a circular bioeconomy to increase the use of renewable non-fossil raw materials and products in sustainable, resource-efficient way. The new From Science to Policy study from the European Forest Institute analyses what a circular bioeconomy strategy would require, particularly in a European context.

More information

Recommended citation:
Hetemäki, L., Hanewinkel, M., Muys, B., Ollikainen, M., Palahí, M. and Trasobares, A. 2017. Leading the way to a European circular bioeconomy strategy. From Science to Policy 5. European Forest Institute.

Number of pages: 52
ISBN 978-952-5980-39-4 (print)
ISBN 978-952-5980-40-0 (online)

Download the Executive Summary

Read the summary: CN / DE / ES / FR / IT / RU


Marc Hanewinkel is Professor of Forest Economics and Forest Management in the Faculty of Environment and Natural Resources, University of Freiburg.
Lauri Hetemäki is Assistant Director of the European Forest Institute and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Forest Science, University of Helsinki.
Bart Muys is Professor of Forest Ecology and Management, in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Leuven.
Markku Ollikainen is Professor of Environmental and Resource Economics in the Department of Economics and Management, University of Helsinki and Chair of the Finnish Climate Panel.
Marc Palahí is Director of the European Forest Institute.
Antoni Trasobares is Director of Centre Tecnològic Forestal de Catalunya (CTFC).


Esko Aho is Strategic Advisor for the European Forest Institute and former Prime Minister of Finland (1991–1995).
Cristina Narbona Ruiz is Counselor, Nuclear Safety Council, and President of the Spanish Socialist Worker’s Party (PSOE) and former Minister of Environment, Spain (2004–2008).
Göran Persson is the President of the European Forest Institute’s ThinkForest Forum, and former Prime Minister of Sweden (1996–2006).
Janez Potocnik is the Co-Chair of International Resource Panel, United Nations Environment Programme and former European Commissioner (2004–2014) and former Minister for European Affairs, Slovenia (2002–2004).