Meeting the European Union’s Forest Strategy goals: A comparative European assessment

From Science to Policy 15

M. Pecurul-Botines, L. Secco, L. Bouriaud, A. Giurca, M. Brockhaus, V. Brukas, M. Hoogstra-Klein, A. Konczal, L. Marcinekova, K. Niedzialkowski, K. Øistad, Š. Pezdevšek Malovrh, N. Pietarinen, J-L Roux, B. Wolfslehner, G. Winkel
Published on


Download the report.

Download the supplementary materials.

A unique EFI science-policy study assesses how national and regional policies meet the goals of the EU Forest Strategy and presents nine policy recommendations to aid the Strategy’s implementation. In ‘Meeting the European Union’s Forest Strategy goals: A comparative European assessment”, a team of 16 authors analysed policies in 15 countries in and outside the EU, as well as three regions in Spain and looked at the patterns which emerged.

More information

Recommended citation:

Pecurul-Botines, M., Secco, L., Bouriaud, L., Giurca, A., Brockhaus, M., Brukas, V., Hoogstra-Klein, M.A., Konczal, A., Marcinekova, L., Niedzialkowski, K., Øistad , K., Pezdevšek Malovrh, Š., Pietarinen, N., Roux, J-L., Wolfslehner, B., Winkel, G. 2023. Meeting the European Union’s Forest Strategy goals: A comparative European assessment. From Science to Policy 15. European Forest Institute.


Number of pages: 52
ISBN 978-952-7426-74-6 (print)
ISBN 978-952-7426-73-9 (online)


Mireia Pecurul-Botines, Forest Sciences and Technological Centre of Catalonia (CTFC)
Laura Secco, University di Padua
Laura Bouriaud, Stefan cel Mare University of Suceava
Alex Giurca, European Forest Institute
Maria Brockhaus, University of Helsinki
Vilis Brukas, University of Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Marjanke Hoogstra-Klein, Wageningen University & Research
Agata Konczal, Wageningen University & Research
Lenka Marcinekova, Technical University in Zvolen
Krzysztof Niedzialkowski, Institute of Philosophy and Sociology. Polish Academy of Sciences
Knut Øistad, Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research (NIBIO)
Špela Pezdevšek Malovrh, University of Ljubljana
Niina Pietarinen, University of Helsinki
Jeanne-Lazya Roux, European Forest Institute
Bernhard Wolfslehner, European Forest Institute
Georg Winkel, Wageningen University & Research